Not A Typical Case

·

, ,

My sleep medicine doctor has told me that I make him use his medical degree, that I’m not a typical case, that I’m a “crazy” case [the case, not me]. He’s referring me to University of Michigan sleep center for a second opinion. My chronic fatigue is kicking my ass, but my doctor wants me to:

  1. Wake up by 8AM
  2. Get some sun after waking up
  3. Not nap (or only nap 10-15 minutes)
  4. Go to bed between 8PM and midnight.

Yesterday was my first day trying this. My first alarm didn’t get set properly, but my second woke me up at 8:30AM. I did not go outside for sun, but I was able to refrain from napping. However, I was so miserable. Here are some texts I sent my best friend:

  • 2:48PM – “I’m jealous of your nap.”
  • 3:56PM [sent sleepy picture]
  • 3:56PM – “Estoy muy cansada”
  • 3:56PM – “AKA I’m very tired.”
  • 4:05PM – “I’m trying super hard to stay awake.”
  • 5:58PM – [sent sleep picture]
  • 5:58PM – “I’m even MORE tired and am struggling to stay awake at this point.”
  • 6:30PM – “I CAN’T STAND THIS”
  • 6:44PM – “The thought of doing this again tomorrow makes me cringe.”
  • 6:46PM – “I’m so worried that I’ll go to sleep early and wake up a few hours later and not be able to sleep. But I guess I should try not to worry about it.”
  • 6:47PM – “I’m literally so fatigued that my arms, wrists, and hands feel exhausted while typing this.”
  • 6:51PM – “You’re probably right. I only have to make it til 8 and I still need to eat.”
  • 6:52PM – [Sent even sleepier pic]
  • 8:36PM – “IM IN MY ROOOOOOOM FINALLY”
  • 8:36PM – “Gonna decompress for a bit and then GO TO SLEEP.”

This is so hard. But I woke up just before 7AM this morning and am trying to stay busy and out of the house as much as possible. I left my house around 9AM, spent an hour and a half at my friend’s place (journaling), and have spent the last two hours at the local coffee shop. I’m getting ready to go home, unfortunately, because my drink is nearly gone, I’ve been here for a while, and I don’t have any money lol.

Anyone have any tips on things to keep me busy or just keep me from falling asleep?

Much appreciated. ❤

Leave a comment

Get updates

From art exploration to the latest archeological findings, all here in our weekly newsletter.

Subscribe