Donating Blood

Guys, I finally got to donate blood again! The last time I actually was able to donate was at least 3 years ago – maybe 4. The last two times I tried to donate I was not able to because they couldn’t find a vein. Everything else was fine (blood pressure, iron levels, pulse, temp) but I guess I was too dehydrated or something.

This time I made sure to drink so much water for a couple days leading up to the donation and the day of the donation (yesterday). I was nervous that it wasn’t going to work out again. Last time it didn’t work out I was so disappointed. I really wanted to donate blood because it makes me feel like I’m really making a difference and helping someone.

But this time it worked! I made sure to get enough sleep, eat the day of, and drink plenty of water. I went to the fire and police training area where the donation was taking place and everything went super smoothly. My donation time was even pretty fast, only taking 7 min 46 sec. Is it weird that I know that? 🙂

The only side effect I’ve really noticed is that I was really tired afterwards – I took a 3 hour nap. Also, I slept more last night/this morning and felt tired when waking up. Other than that, I feel really good emotionally about donating blood. I really feel like I’ve contributed to helping others and that’s always a good thing.

2 thoughts on “Donating Blood

  1. You should be so proud! I intend to start giving blood this year, and whilst it’s far from fun, it is a really awesome thing to do. Someone’s life could be saved thanks to you, and that’s really f*cking amazing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

