Here’s to Firsts

Guys, I did something new yesterday. Like really new. A first. I signed up for a free boxing class at a TITLE boxing center near my house. I was really nervous because I’m really out of shape and I’ve never done anything like it before. I almost called and cancelled twice the day of but I stuck to my commitment and went. The only thing I had to pay for was the hand wraps and they were only $10.

The class was hard. It consisted of a 15 minute warm up (that  made me feel like my calves were on fire), 8 3-minute rounds of boxing with gloves and the 100lb bag (with a 1 minute rest between each round), and then 15 minute core at the end. I couldn’t really participate in the core because they were doing a lot of sit up type stuff on the ground and I have some back problems. But the trainer, a guy named Lonny, was really good and gave me alternative exercises to do on my own that were still hard but that I was able to do. Also, the staff was great. The girl that checked me in helped me wrap my hands and then, during the 8 rounds she would periodically come over and make sure I knew what I was doing. She kept encouraging me to go at my own pace and keep it up.

The staff was great and the experience, while really hard and exhausting, was a good one. Because of my monetary imitations right now I probably won’t be able to afford a membership, but I might just do some drop in classes or something. Because I liked that feeling of being challenged and working hard.

I am so proud of myself for sticking to my commitment and trying something new, despite my anxiety and nervousness about it. I think I need to try some more new things soon.

Leave a Reply

