Escaping From Life

Sometimes I feel the need to escape from life. My moods can be so low or I can feel like all my senses are dulled down and I’m a shell. A lot of the time I turn to napping to escape. Even though I sleep close to 12 hours every night I will usually still find time to nap during the day. I know this isn’t good for me. It prevents me from engaging in my life around me and things pass me by. But there’s another way I like to escape sometimes – reading. I love to read. I have always loved to read. And I love to reread books. Right now I’m rereading a science fiction favorite, Shadow of the Hegemon by Orson Scott Card. I’m able to disappear into someone else’s world for a while. I can laugh, cry, or grieve with others and forget about my own problems, however briefly. Is it healthy? I don’t know but it’s healthier than other ways of escape I suppose.

I don’t really know if there’s a purpose to this post…

Leave a Reply

