2 Years – YAY!

Guys!

I can’t believe it and I can believe it and I’m so excited! Today, March 27, 2017 marks 2 years since I last cut. 2 years.

Do you know how else you can measure two years?

  • 731 days
  • 17,544 hours
  • 1,052,640 minutes
  • 63,158,400 seconds

Okay, to be fair, the hours, minutes, and seconds might be a little off. I’m not exactly sure what the exact time was or whatever but that’s not the point.

2 years! 2 years of struggle, of fighting, and ultimately using healthier coping mechanisms to deal with my pain. If I had been asked a couple years ago if I could go 2 years without cutting I would have said no. I wouldn’t even have thought I could make it a day, a week, or a month. But here I am.

I know some people don’t like to keep track of the days since they’ve self-harmed or engaged in other behaviors that they’re trying to stop. They think it’ll make it harder if they slip up. Well, I say to each their own. If tracking the days makes it harder for you then don’t track the days. For me, it gives me something to strive for and encourages me to keep going.

To anyone out there struggling with self-harm, there is hope. I know that your story is not my story. I know that we are different; different stories and different pain. But I do believe that, if you’re ready and willing, you can stop. It’ll be hard and the road might be bumpy (there might even be slips and lapses), but I believe in you so much.

Much love,

2 thoughts on “2 Years – YAY!

Leave a Reply

