Surprising Myself At Work

I surprised myself today, guys.

I was scheduled to work a 7 hour shift. I didn’t sleep well last night and so, after I took my morning Lithium, I got nauseous at work. I was exhausted so my heart rate was elevated while trying to work. 4 hours into my shift I felt like I’d had enough. I was exhausted, in pain, light-headed, and feeling overwhelmed and anxious. I thought, “I can’t do this. How am I going to make it through this shift? I can’t.” I even went to ask my manager if I could leave early. When I realized no one would be able to cover the rest of my shift, I said, “Alright, I’ll just stick it out and see how it goes.”

That’s when things started to change.

Maybe it was knowing I couldn’t leave or maybe it was the new, positive self-talk of, “I can do this. I have to do this. I can make it” that made the difference. Maybe it was getting away from the heat of the sandwich station. All I know is that I did  it. I made it through my shift. I finished.

I thought I couldn’t do it. I told myself I couldn’t and it felt unbearable.

I told myself I could do it and I found that I was able to.

Positive self-talk and encouragement go a long way. And pushing myself just a bit allowed me to realize that I’m stronger than I thought I was.

 

 

One thought on “Surprising Myself At Work

  1. I love when I don’t think I can do something and then I do! It’s so empowering! I honestly understand you though. I work at a bakery and I am standing and lifting for five to six hours a night and I am also hurting a lot after awhile. Remembering my first day is really empowering. I worked eight hours and almost cried with back pain, but I didn’t quit. However, there is still the fact that if you are in too much pain, you need to take care of yourself, but pushing through the minor troubles when you want to give up, it is so worth it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

