Contributing is Therapy

I’m exhausted right now. It has been a really long day. After waking up, I showered, worked on my sister’s website design, and then rushed to get ready for my mom to pick me up and take me to therapy. The ride to therapy was not fun. I never used to have issues with feeling motion sick in cars – at least that was true until about a year ago when I was put on new psychiatric medications. Now, I sometimes feel carsick. I had thought I was getting used to it, but then we changed my med dosages last Thursday and bam! now I feel sick in cars again. Anyways. Therapy was good, but I knew I had a long day ahead of me.

It’s my sister’s birthday today (my oldest sister). I think she turned 36 today and, as a present, I told her I would cook dinner. So, I cooked dinner for 7 people. But did I pick something that is easy to make for a lot of people, like spaghetti or soup? Nope. I picked steak because I know she loves it. So, I cooked steak (with homemade jalapeño and tomato sauce), salad (with cucumber and tomato), homemade mashed potatoes, and fish (for my mom). Before I started cooking I gave myself 30 minutes to decompress after therapy. Then, by 6:35pm, I was in the kitchen. I had dishes to do (my sister’s wrists have been hurting), potatoes to peel, and just a whole lot of cooking to do! I was basically busy in the kitchen until almost 9pm because, although everyone but my mom and I was able to eat sooner than that, I still had to make my mom’s fish and my food, plus chopping up strawberries for a homemade strawberry topping sauce for a (store-bought) cheesecake. Needless to say I was a bit frantic and stressed.

But here’s the thing. Everything turned out really well. I got a lot of compliments about the food and my sister really appreciated all the work I put in. She appreciated not having to cook dinner for herself and her son on her birthday. And I think she appreciates the fact that I told her I’d do the cleanup tonight and/or tomorrow morning. And all that appreciation – it made me feel good about myself. Because although I am exhausted and in a lot of pain, I feel good about contributing.

Sometimes the best therapy is doing something for someone else. ❤

Leave a Reply

