Happy Father’s Day

Happy Father’s Day to the most amazing padre out there (yes I am talking about my dad), Michael McLaughlin.  He works too hard but is so kind, caring, and loving.  I love him so much and I don’t get to spend enough time with him, generally speaking.  This is why I LOVE Father’s Day.  We used to go to the beach every Father’s Day, but this year my dad just didn’t feel up to it.  He works two jobs and his health hasn’t been the best lately.  He told me that he really wished he was just at home today, laying down on his couch.  He didn’t say this to make us feel bad, so I didn’t let it bother me.  I understand feeling tired, sad, and like all I want to do is lay on my bed and sleep.  But he came over to my mom’s house (even though they are divorced they are still on very good terms) and he, Mary, Becky, and I hung out around a fire (even though it was soooo hot out today) while we bbq’d yummy chicken wings, country style western ribs (I think), and hamburgers.  YUM!  It was so nice just to hang out with the family and really spend some time with my dad.

When my dad first arrived I got to show him my new room (new for me since I moved in in February) and I shared with him my distress tolerance toolbox and just told him about things that have been going on in my life.  I think he really enjoyed that, because oftentimes he feels left out of the loop.  I love him so much!

Towards the end of the evening, I recognized my mood starting to dip, so I excused myself back into the house and just made a list of things I want to get done for the rest of the week/month.

wpid-20150621_195749.jpgI want to try to do some yoga every day and take a shower every other day, because to be honest, showering on a regular schedule while I’ve been depressed has been rather difficult.  One of the other important things I want to do every day is write. That is one way that I am trying to add positives into my life, because I adore writing. Then, because in therapy my therapist mentioned I need to work on adding positives into my life, I have a list of short term positive activities that I can do every day for the rest of the week.  Then I came up with a long term goal I want to work on, and keeping busy is one thing I want to implement immediately to help me be happier and more satisfied with life.

Leave a Reply

