Don’t Give Up

I disappointed myself yesterday.  I got out of bed around 2pm and by 5:40pm I was back in bed, sleeping, again.  I slept until 8:30pm.  8:30 PM.  I literally wasted my entire day.  I don’t even really remember what I did during that time when I was awake.  I also recognize that I had an opportunity to use skills to keep myself awake and out of bed for the day and I DID NOT use them!  It’s frustrating that I keep doing this to myself.

I decided though, that instead of feeling defeated and giving up for the rest of the day, that I was going to do things for the rest of the day.  I made dinner and ate food, so that was productive.  Other than that I think I mainly just watched television and wrote in my journal.  My mom and I (after she got home) watch part of the movie “The Giver,” which is really good, by the way.  We only got through half of it when I started to get antsy and realized that I needed to go to bed.  So we shut off the movie and headed into my room, where she read part of “Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Lightning Thief” to me.  It’s a book that I really wanted my mom to read and so we reading it “together,” by which I mean she’s reading it out loud to me while I’m lying in bed getting ready to go to sleep.  Hahaha.  It’s great! I love listening to the sound of her voice, reading to me, so much!

My evening was somewhat enjoyable, even though I wasted most of the day away.  I know it would not have been enjoyable had I given up and decided to not do anything.  So I persevered through the night and that is what is important.  That is what I reinforced yesterday: Don’t Give Up!!!!

Leave a Reply

