DBT Graduation

Dialectical Behavioral Therapy.

It’s a concept I’ve become increasingly familiar with over the last year.  For those of you that don’t know, Dialectical Behavioral Therapy (DBT) focuses on four key modules:

  1. Mindfulness
  2. Emotion Regulation
  3. Interpersonal Effectiveness
  4. Distress Tolerance

But this post isn’t meant to describe or teach DBT.  I’m just so excited because I just GRADUATED from my DBT group.  I went through the program (6 months) twice and now I’m just done!  I’m not done learning about DBT or putting the skills into practice, I’m just done with the 2 hour weekly meetings where I learn the basics.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m going to miss group.  I made some friends and got to see my therapists and everything.  I was surrounded by people who really seemed to understand me.  But this is a new step for me.  A step forward in my recovery and I couldn’t be happier.

2 thoughts on “DBT Graduation

  1. That’s awesome! My parents and I went through a DBT course over a couple years ago and it was the best thing we could have done to understand my brother better. For generations our family has been riddled with mental illness, but my brother pulled the short stick in our generation. I’m glad you’ve learned the tools! I should really review my notes from that course. I learned so many practical skills!

    Like

Leave a Reply

